RDA
Orsay (91), france
Changement de règles sur la gestion des commander mis au cimetiere
le 08/06/2020 1:19
Citation :
As you may have heard on the CommandFest charity stream, we’re changing how commanders go to the command zone, effective with the quarterly Commander announcement for Core Set 2021. The short version of it is:

If a commander has an ability which triggers on it dying or going to exile, it will trigger before heading to the command zone.

The long version (including how we got there and the technical details) is below.

First, new rules (specifically, a new state-based action):

If a commander is in a graveyard or in exile and that card was put into that zone since the last time state-based actions were checked, its owner may put it into the command zone.

If a commander would be put into its owner’s hand or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. This replacement effect may apply more than once to the same event.

Commander death triggers are a subject that came up over the years, but didn’t get much traction. It’s not that any of us objected, it’s that none of us felt all that strongly about it. The current system worked fine and was elegant. We were happy with it and obvious possible changes had a lot of downsides. There were people out there who thought it was a good idea, and people out there who thought it was a bad idea, and no groundswell for change. You’ll find us defending positions we feel strongly are correct (like hybrid mana color identity during deck construction), but we generally didn’t engage much on Commander death triggers beyond pointing out that the rules to make it happen weren’t nearly as simple as people thought they were. We just didn’t have strong feelings either way.

The tipping point came last October when a CAG member was talking about their Elenda, the Dusk Rose deck and we had to break it to them that it didn’t work the way they thought it did. Turns out a portion of the CAG didn’t understand that commanders dying didn’t trigger death triggers and were quite passionate about the subject. That was motivation to see if we could do something with them that wasn’t a mess.

We came up with a lot of possibilities. Each had various levels of impact on the game. We had a list of a bunch of notable cards so that we could consider the implications of each approach, including Rest in Peace, It That Betrays, Oblivion Ring, Banishing Light, Grave Betrayal, even Skullbriar! If it had a weird interaction with a zone change, we probably talked about it.

In the end, we presented eight options to the CAG for discussion, all of which had different plusses and minuses:

-Do nothing
-Redefine the term “dies”
-Inherent trigger on the commander
-State trigger on a commander in a graveyard
-State-based action (mandatory)
-State-based action (optional)
-Special action
-A really crazy one where the Commander made a token copy of itself that went to the graveyard.

And then we talked a bunch. How much weirdness was acceptable? How much were we willing to change core Commander game play? Was not being able to leave your Commander in the graveyard acceptable for a very clean state trigger? For example, the special action (essentially “0: put your Commander into the Command Zone. Activate only in the graveyard, exile or library”) meant it was usually correct to have your commander in the graveyard when it wasn’t on the battlefield. Redefining “dies” to mean “is put into the graveyard or command zone from the battlefield” was super-clean, but meant that blinking a commander would trigger death triggers. Everything had tradeoffs.

After a lot of discussion, we proposed to Wizards the following state-based action:

If a commander is in a library, graveyard or exile, and doesn’t have a choice counter on it, it’s owner may put it into the command zone. If they do not, put a choice counter on it.

That worked intuitively with basically everything (shhhh, Skullbriar).

Rules Manager Eli Shiffrin (because he’s smart and good with the rules) pointed out that we could steal a little technology from, of all things, Deathtouch, to avoid using a counter (yay, Skullbriar):

If a commander is in a graveyard, library or in exile and that card was put into that zone since the last time state-based actions were checked, its owner may put it into the command zone.

We loved this, but there was one small problem. Could this apply in a hidden zone, especially with the existence of Chaos Warp? Chaos Warp targeting a Commander would put the commander into the library, shuffle it, then reveal the top card. Tracking the commander through all of that is stretching the Magic rules, and while I think we could have made it work, it was tricky both rules-wise and physically. In the end, we left the replacement effect in place for hidden zones (hand and library) and now use the state-based action for graveyard and exile. Commanders that go to hand rarely want to be moved, and commanders going to the library is a rare event; wanting to take further action before the State-based Action kicks in is rarer still. Those events working differently won’t matter most of the time.

And that’s how we ended up with the final rules above. Note that the Commander still has to go to the graveyard in order for a dies ability to trigger. If that is replaced by some other effect (such as Rest in Peace), it won’t happen, just as it wouldn’t happen on any other creature.

We’ll obviously be keeping an eye on some of the more powerful commanders with death triggers – looking at you Kokusho and Child of Alara! – but think it will be OK and opens up a few more interesting options. And Elendra the Dusk Rose now works like the CAG and a bunch of other people think it does.


source : https://mtgcommander.net/index.php/2020/06/07/june-7-announcement-on-d...


en gros : Quand un commandant est mis au cimetière ou en exil, pas d'effet de remplacement mais une SBA (state based action, action basée sur un état) qui donne le choix de l'envoyer en command zone, pour les changements vers d'autres zones (main, bibliothèque) on aura toujours un effet de remplacement

les conséquences :
Les triggers de mort et d'exil vont s'appliquer (ce n'était pas le cas avant) et du coup on pourra par exemple piocher 2 cartes quand notre commandant équipé de pincecrane meurs et qu'on l'envoi en command zone
Les triggers quand une carte quitte le cimetière s'appliqueront aussi si on choisi que notre commandant mort va en command zone (par exemple le trigger de Desecrated Tomb)
haut de page - Les forums de MV >> Commander >> Discussion : page 1 | 2 | 3
lhf
le 08/06/2020 13:04
Avant de crier au ban, faudrait se rendre compte que 99% des généraux ont plus de 1 d'endu

Et par la suite, 99% des généraux doivent rester sur table. Désolé, mais j'ai pas envie de sac akiri ou silas, ce sont les kill du pack.
Encore moins de sac une timna, AKA UN MOTEUR DE CA pour faire du CA. Mais c'est juste stupide. Surtout qd on a un pack bourré de crea mourant naturellement sur clamp, ne servant à rien ou ne coutant rien.

On sacrifie des 1/1 "inutiles" avec clamp et si possible des 1/1 pour 1, voir moins.


Citation :
Je pense que ça fait bien plus avec tous les généraux aggros dont la capa principale est de taper (Isamaru, Kari, Anax, etc.). Là tu te retrouves avec un choix difficile : soit tu prends, soit l'autre pioche sans vraiment avoir perdu de carte puisque c'est son général...


la plupart du temps, tu n'as justement pas envie de mettre pincecrane dessus et/ou pas besoin.


Même avant le changement, c'est rare de s'amuser à bouger pincecrane pour juste coller 1 de plus et bon, la plupart du temps, on a autre chose que son général à équiper. Je le vois très bien qd je joue justement kithéon(pas de pincecrane dessus), or je n'avais aucun souci à trouver un autre porteur.

Le fait de pouvoir le faire sur le général, c'est un bon buff, mais dans les fait, ca ne changera quasiment rien. Les pack jouant actuellement pincecrane sont déjà buildé autour du fait qu'on a des cibles pour pincecrane. Et c'est pour ca qu'on joue pincecrane...

Qu'il soit sur une 2/2 venant de la CZ ou une 2/2 venant de ta main, ca ne change rien.



On aura peut être des deck sous coté qui vont un peu monté, surtout si il y a W pour stoneforge.
Eichimaru
Bretagne, France
le 08/06/2020 13:30
Et puis il faut aussi se dire qu'avec la taxe de commandant, il ne vas pas pouvoir avoir trop d'abus.
Dans le pire des cartes le mec vas piocher deux fois et ça veux dire qu'il aura casté son général 2 fois + accepté de le voir mourir et donc de jouer sans lui.

Je joue Judith et je suis rarement content qu'elle meurt, même si c'est pour piocher deux. Le seul cas c'est si le mec est presque mort et que cherche le léthal avec des burns.
lhf
le 08/06/2020 13:34
+1 eichimaru
je rajoute une chose.

Voilà judith, franchement as tu du mal à trouvé une crea ds ce pack qui aurait envie de se faire clamper ?
Est ce que ca va vraiment changer la donne de pouvoir le faire sur ta 2/2 ? En sachant que tu dois avoir un moyen de sac (bon ok, pas très dur ds ton pack).

Et auras tu envie d'attaquer avec ta 3/1 pour t'empaler ds un dork et perdre ta principale source de dmg afin de gagner 2 cartes ? Tout en sachant que tu as d'autres crea sur table ?
Eichimaru
Bretagne, France
le 08/06/2020 13:44
Citation :
Voilà Judith, franchement as tu du mal à trouvé une crea ds ce pack qui aurait envie de se faire clamper ?

Non et en général, je préfère aussi conserver mon board la plupart du temps. Surtout que Judith est ultra impactante sur le board.

Citation :
Et auras tu envie d'attaquer avec ta 3/1 pour t'empaler ds un dork et perdre ta principale source de dmg afin de gagner 2 cartes ? Tout en sachant que tu as d'autres crea sur table ?

Uniquement c'est ça peut me donner le lethal avec un ping ou des burns.

(ps : à aucun moment ce sera aussi fort qu'un Gravecrawler activable)
Deho_Edeba
le 08/06/2020 14:24
Citation :
Du coup on a aussi les dragon Kamigawa (Kokusho, l'étoile du soir et Yosei, l'étoile du matin en CZ ça semble être pas déconnant du tout), on a Pashalik Mons, Elenda, la Rose du crépuscule, Gerrard, héros de l'Aquilon, Marchesa, la Rose Noire, Omnath, Locus de rage, et bien sûr Haakon, plaie de Stromgald :-{


Gerrard fonctionnait déjà sous l'ancienne règle vu qu'il s'exile depuis le cimetière.
Ca ouvre éventuellement des perspectives de réanimation vu qu'il peut trigger sa mort et rester au cimetière, cela dit.
Eichimaru
Bretagne, France
le 08/06/2020 16:17
Du coup pour Entrave d'Ixalan, ça fonctionne ou pas ?
J'ai des débats avec d'autres joueurs.
MKaLIEz
Légende
le 08/06/2020 16:23
Pour Entrave d'Ixalan, je pense que ça marche car le commandant est une fois exilé avant de retourner dans la zone de commandement, mais pas sûr à 100% car je ne suis pas expert en règle
MKaLIEz
Légende
le 08/06/2020 16:30
Oups je me suis trompé, sur le Gatherer il est écrit :
Citation :
If there is no exiled card (perhaps because the exiled permanent was a token or was a commander that moved to the command zone in the Commander variant), Ixalan’s Binding won’t stop players from casting spells.


Donc en fait ça ne fonctionnera pas :-/
zankou60
le 08/06/2020 16:36
Le gatherer actuel ne prend pas en compte le futur changement de regle
Eichimaru
Bretagne, France
le 08/06/2020 16:37
Cette ligne est à jour ?
RDA
Orsay (91), france
le 08/06/2020 18:56
En fait tu regarde a chaque fois la carte exilée, sauf que t'en a pas du coup rien. N'est stoppé
ZeSword
Bruxelles, Belgique

AVATAR
le 29/06/2020 14:26
Je viens d'avoir le temps de passer un coup de peinture, et du coup j'ai récupéré la combo suivante :

https://www.magic-ville.com/fr/combos/showcombo?ref=81468

Si vous voyez d'autres combo où cela pourrait avoir un impact, n'hésitez pas à faire remonter :)
Tuwa
Briovera, capitale des ruines
le 29/06/2020 16:51
Hello
Je crois que tu peux supprimer les combo avec Reyhan qui profitaient de la règle précédente, du coup.

https://www.magic-ville.com/fr/combos/showcombo.php?ref=80687
et
https://www.magic-ville.com/fr/combos/showcombo.php?ref=80569
ZeSword
Bruxelles, Belgique

AVATAR
Merci
le 29/06/2020 21:56
Merci, je note ça dans un coin, je les passerai en "historique" quand la règle sera entérinée (je ne sais pas quand la nouvelle règle sera vraiment en vigueur).
Dmyr
Rouen, France

ANGE
Donde esta el ruling
le 08/07/2020 18:31
Qq qui a le lien de la règle ? J’arrive pas à mettre la main dessus
soullessoni
Paris
le 08/07/2020 19:59
903.9a: If a commander is in a graveyard or in exile and that card was put into that zone since the last time state-based actions were checked, its owner may put it into the command zone. This is a state-based action. See rule 704.

inspratoo
le 08/07/2020 20:16
Résultat c est validé et actif pour le DC ?
soullessoni
Paris
le 08/07/2020 20:33
C'est dans les règles de Mtg, le DC suit les règles de MTG sauf mention du contraire, donc on applique ces règles en DC.
Kirdie
Comité DC - Règles & Banlist, France
le 08/07/2020 23:20
C'est exactement ça.
ZeSword
Bruxelles, Belgique

AVATAR
le 09/07/2020 9:29
Le changement devait être fait dans Core Set 2021.

https://www.channelfireball.com/all-strategy/articles/commander-rules-...

Mais en vrai, dans l'update bulletin du Core Set 2021, je ne vois pas ce changement :

https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/news/comprehensive-rules...

Pourtant, il est bien dans les règles officielles (pp.198-199) :

https://media.wizards.com/2020/downloads/MagicCompRules%2020200703.pdf

Du coup je ne sais pas exactement quand a été fait le changement, mais il est bien là.
haut de page - Les forums de MV >> Commander >> Discussion : page 1 | 2 | 3
Vous devez être identifié pour pouvoir poster sur les forums.